The Organ Champs

The Organ Champs

The quartet "The Organ Champs" consists of the renowned Austrian jazz musicians Erwin Schmidt, Martin Fuss, Wolfgang Pointner and Vladimir Kostadinovic, who together celebrate their love for the sound of the Hammond organ and groovy jazz styles from hardbop to Latin and Funk.
Started out from sessions and gigs in small clubs, it was soon clear that the four musicians had a blind mutual understanding and the joy of making music together - the logical step was to record this CD.
It's a collective of musicians, which all contribute compositions to the bandbook and share a common understanding of interpretation, improvisation and groove.

Friday, 04 September 2020

Turn It On

Turn It On
Product ID: JM-2097-2
Audiosamples (click to start & stop):

Luny Tune Senza Fine  Minor Truth
Peace Groovin on Dr. John One for ST
Rumpelstilzchen Balkan Flood

Erwin Schmidt, Martin Fuss, Wolfgang Pointner and Vladimir Kostadinovic are all masters of their respective instruments in any case and these four musicians have more in common than their jazz expertise: what makes The Organ Champs unbeatable as a quartet is their shared grounding in the blues. Plus that a certain funky vibe always underlies their mellow songs and solos. Their debut recording required no major advance coordination, but they simply counted themselves in and turned it on. “Turn it on” is also the name of the album, which kicks off with a vigorous drumroll! At its epicentre is the earthy, vibrant sound of the Hammond organ, a recurrent feature throughout the history of jazz that gives the music an irresistible tingling warmth. The Organ Champs also like to make forays in the direction of soul jazz and hard bop, with classics by the likes of Horace Silver, Lee Morgan or Larry Young. In their own songs, though, they skilfully bring their wide-ranging influences bang up to date. 

1. Luny Tune - 2. Senza Fine - 3. Minor Truth - 4. Peace - 5. Groovin on Dr. John - 6. One for ST - 7. Way Up North - 8. Why does it have to be so bad - 9. Sonic Boom - 10. Rumpelstilzchen - 11. Balkan Flood - 12. Are You Serious


order by paypal

or use our shop!