Thursday, 13 January 2022


Insomnia Efervescencia Otra Vez In Spite Of Koyo Red Sun Horus Zarouan Isi‘s Vegan Cheesesauce Caracol





order in our paypal-shop:(physical Cd)
Or send an email direct to: office @

“Koyo” touches upon the motivations that drive the band to create music. When the desire to discover and explore the world awakens in him, the Koyo embarks on a journey leaving his homeland and loved ones behind. Destitute, he wanders through various countries until he reaches a new, unknown land, where he is confronted with a new set of values much different from his own. Even though he struggles financially, he uses his music and spirituality to carve a way through this strange world, in hopes of building a dignified life for himself.

Arising from the Jazz-Sector, Barakah is enriching its music with a variety of stylistic influences from around the world with no hesitation. Yet the band has managed to preserve a certain openness for musical styles like Hip-Hop, Funk, Rock and Metal and to artistically interweave these styles in their repertoire, with elements of North African Gnawa music and Latin American rhythms. The musically diverse components are skillfully merged into an energetic and impulsive aesthetic. With all that comes a great joy in improvising and a slope to experimental concepts.
In their quest for their identity, Barakah pushes their musical boundaries to explore new concepts and ideas. On this journey, the image of Koyo serves as a guide to lead the band on, and as a reminder of what fascinated them so about music in the first place.

  • Sherif Abdalla – drums
  • Paulo Correa – keys
  • Martin Demmer: – guitar
  • Jakob Mayr – trombone
  • Thomas Milacher – bass
  • Anton Prettler – reeds

Recorded at Treehouse Studios Vienna | Mix & Recording Director: Ken Rischard Master: Martin Siewert | Fotos: Helmut Perez Mayer | Artwork: Vero Sforza
Cover Design: Rens Newland & Anton Prettler | all titles published by Jive Music, except Tr. 10 (manscript).

  1. Prologue – 1:42 (Sherif Abdalla)
  2. Insomnia – 7:05 (Anton Prettler)
  3. Efervescencia (Martin Demmer) 1:55
  4. Otra Vez (Paulo Correa) 4:53
  5. In Spite Of (Paulo Correa) 6:57
  6. Koyo (Anton Prettler) 5:24
  7. Red Sun (Anton Prettler) 2:24
  8. Horus (Anton Prettler) 5:58
  9. Zarouan (S.Abdalla, P. Correa, A. Prettler) 7:48
  10. Isi‘s Vegan Cheesesauce (Markus Dutka) 5:42
  11. Caracol (Paulo Correa) 2:43

This production was subsidized by S.K.E.! We kindly thank this austrian social, cultural organisation (part of austro mechana)!

Additional Info

Related items